Litchfield Public Library District

Loading palette preview

Your Library Card

Getting a card, borrowing limits, renewing materials, overdue fees.

Who can get a card

Any resident of Litchfield CUSD #12 is eligible for a  three year library card.  Children under 18 may apply for a library card if they come into the Library with their parent / guardian.

Non-resident Fees

For those who live outside the Library's service area (Litchfield school district), there is a $65.00 charge per year to use the Library. This fee will allow all family members who reside at the address listed on the application to use the Library's services.

Per Illinois State Statutes, residents who live outside the library district's boundaries must purchase a library card at the library that is located closer to them or that is within the school district in which they reside.

Reciprocal Borrowers

Anyone with a current and valid Illinois public library card may use that card at the Litchfield Public Library via the reciprocal borrowing agreement of all Illinois public libraries. Reciprocal borrowers must have the card in their possession at the time of application, and Library staff must call the home library to verify standing of the individual.

In addition, anyone with a Litchfield Library card may use that card at any participating reciprocal borrowing Illinois library.

How to Get Your Card

To apply for a library card, you must present two forms of identification. One of these must be a photo ID and one of them must show a current mailing address. All new library card applicants must complete a probationary period before they are allowed access to all library services.

Borrowing Limits

Once the probationary period has been successfully completed, a patron is eligible to borrow materials directly from the Litchfield Library and through interlibrary loan. There is a limit of five interlibrary loan materials per family, and three DVDs  per family. There is no limit on the number of books checked out.

Renewing Your Borrowed Items

Most library items can be renewed for an additional two week loan period. Exceptions are:  DVDs and items that have a reserve list on them. These items cannot be renewed. Interlibrary loan items may not be renewed.

Library Fines

The fines for overdue all books, audiobooks, and magazines are 10 cents per day.

The fines for overdue DVDs are $2.00 per day.

The fines for interlibrary loan materials are  25 cents per day.